top of page

My Balls Are Hot, UFC 265 Predictions


Source: Josh Hedges/Zuffa LLC


Houston will be the site of what seems like one of the most puzzling title shifts in recent MMA history. It wasn't all that long ago that Francis Ngannou was crowned the new king of the UFC, however here we are with an Interim title already popping up out of thin air. Realistically, no one cares about this so called "belt", because we all know who the real kingpin is of the division so let's just enjoy two big dudes scrapping!


Regardless, UFC 265 is loaded with talent. From the early prelims to the main card itself, it's been some time where I may be more pumped about the Prelim headliner than the actual fight the PPV is based around. Granted Green just so happens to be one of my favourite fighters, but his matchup Fisiev will be an absolute banger of a fight. There are too many great fights to talk about so let's just get to the predictions.


Ciryl Gane vs Derrick Lewis


It's crazy to think that Gane turned pro in just 2018. That's what, three/four years to reach the summit of the sport? Absolutely mad. What may be even more impressive is the way he's done it. Gane isn't the banger that Lewis is, and quite frankly is a much more responsible fighter. He never really seems to get into any real trouble despite facing some of the toughest dudes this sport has to offer.


There is no doubt that Lewis possesses the power to alter a fight, and although he's been working night and day to improve his cardio, I'm not really certain this is the type of fight he'll thrive in. Not only is Gane patient, but he's also a much more athletic and diverse stiker. There really isn't any heavyweight in the world that moves the way he can. I just don't see Lewis landing the big shot he needs to push the fight in his direction.


At the end of the day, if Lewis can land then anything can happen. However, given Gane's movement, arsenal and temperament, I just don't think there will be many openings for the flat footed big man to land. But if he does, the arena is going to explode!


Prediction: Ciryl Gane, Decision


Jose Aldo vs Pedro Munhoz


You always wonder when a guy like Aldo will hang it up. Is he still in great shape? Yes. Can he still hang with the best? Yes. Is he a guy that can still compete for a title? Probably not. I get he loves to fight, but the guy is one of the undisputed greats with virtually nothing left to prove. I suppose his move to 135 could work out, and I like that this a three rounder much more for him since he's shown a tendency to fade later into fights as of late.


Soooooo as much as my brain is telling me to pick Munhoz, my heart is telling me to ride with Aldo. I'm not very smart, so i don't really trust my brain all that much. Aldo it is!


Prediction: Jose Aldo, Decision


Michael Chiesa vs Vicente Luque


Woof! Now this is a dog fight. Both guys are peaking at just the right time, and both guys are looking to for that title elusive title shot, so there's a ton on the line. Looking at Chiesa, it's hard to believe he was cutting to 155. The guy is huge, and I think that strength will likely be a major factor in how this one plays out. I will say that I firmly believe Luque has a bigger advantage on the feet than Chiesa has on the ground (if he has any).


I think there is a bit more to Luque's game than Chiesa, however it's such a close fight I'm splitting hairs trying to come up with a reason to go one way or another. I guess I believe in Luque more given his most recent stretch, but again Chiesa is right there as well. UGGGGGGH!!!


Prediction: Vicente Luque, 2ND RD TKO


Angela Hill vs Tecia Torres


Man, or should I say woman, has there been any fighter who has been in as many razor close fights as Hill? After back-to-back split decisions losses (I thought she won both) it was probably really tough for her to get in there with Yoder. Well, she did and won decisively. Although I think that fight was massive step down for her. Yoder is alright, but Torres is an excellent fighter. A fighter btw who already has a win over Hill.


I think this will once again come down to the wire for Hill, and I think unfortunately she'll be on the wrong side again. Torres' speed and grappling are exceptional, and her striking seems to be on a different level as of late too. Another tough one to call, but I believe Torres will do just enough to edge out a win.


Prediction: Tecia Torres, Decision


Casey Kenney vs Yadong Song


Another fight that can go either way. However, I think this one could end in brutal fashion. Song has BIG power for this division, and if Kenney unwisely gets caught up in a fire fight he may end up going viral for all the wrong reasons. But if he plays it smart and pushes the pace by using his wrestling he may be able to tire Song out and possibly get a finish. There's just too much danger trying to get on the inside for me to trust that philosophy though.


Prediction: Yadong Song, 2ND TKO


Rest of the Card


Fisiev def Green


Herman def Menifield


Kowalkiewicz def Penne


Rodriguez dez Morales


Osbourne def Kape


Johns def dos Santos


Gatto def Leonardo


Munoz Jr def Simmons




2021 Predictions Record: 107-72-2



Recent Posts
Archive
laymans1.png

© 2021 Layman's Sports. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • SoundCloud
bottom of page